Reaction Post #8 – 10,000 Words

I found 10,000 words maps to be very exciting.  I have been waiting for something like iMove to hit York, Pa. Currently I receive email traffic updates on accidents that have happened on my normal route home from WGAL and try to tune into a radio station for an update on accidents.  However, by the time I’m ready to leave work; I want to see what the traffic looks like to determine which direction I should go home.  This iMove for the Vancouver area looks like it is what I would want plus a whole lot more.  At the traffic accident point on the map, you can click to see what the cameras have captured so that you can make a decision if you want to drive into that mess or chose another way home. 

Triptrop NYC map is fine if you know what addresses to add. I think it is a great concept, but I’ve sat in New York City traffic and I have never gone from point A to point B in 10 minutes.  I still find it to be a useful tool.  

The Marine Traffic map  is informative.  I selected the English Channel and selected to see all of the ports, passenger vessels, cargo vessels, tankers, high speed craft, tug, yachts and unspecified ships and was surprised to see how this plotted out.  You can see how close some of the ships are to each other.  The color coding really helps your eye to distinguish the different types of vessels.

The World News map was useful.  The world map basically stays the same, but you can locate news on a certain day and year for a particular geographical location.  I looked at what happened in Egypt on July 8, 2009 and found Germany ‘not silent’ on stabbing.  This could be a great tool for research.  This article is from the BBC so it was in English.  I’m assuming all the articles are in English, but I’m not sure.  So if this is the case, I wonder how useful it is for non-English speaking people.

2 Responses to “Reaction Post #8 – 10,000 Words”

  1. TL Says:

    The World News Map is unique and provides some insight into how maps can be used far beyond the typical traffic, voting and other applications.

  2. Dollie Says:

    Pretty! This has been an extremely wonderful post. Many thanks for supplying this
    information.

Leave a Reply

