Research Post #9

This week’s research consists of two Google alerts on “morning people.”  The first one is Runners club offers encouragement, companionship and early start.     

The article talks about a runners club that meets at 5:30 a.m. on Thursdays and 6:30 a.m. on Saturdays.  That means that runners have to be up and ready to run at 5:30 a.m.  You definitely have to be a morning person to not be up, but have your body ready to move.  

There are about 75 members in this running club and when they are finished with their run, there is a social hour with coffee, snacks and conversations.  So these morning people are not just interesting in working out, but they also want to interact with others and make friends.  

The article states that knowing there are people waiting for you at 5:30 a.m. helps motivate you to get out of bed.        

The second research article for this week is Monday, July 20, 2009 post on Brownies for breakfast blog post.  This lady knows that she is not a morning person and really cannot even function until she has her coffee with cream.  

She feels that she is normally a nice person, but I think that might be true after she has her coffee with cream.  Reason being is that her post is about how the product design changed on the creamer she uses and she was very upset when she could not open the creamer to have her morning coffee.  

So she is blaming that fact that she cannot handle change on her not being a morning person.  I think she needs more sleep.

4 Responses to “Research Post #9”

  1. amrana1 Says:

    Michelle,

    Your posts have been very informative for people who really want to start getting up early. Your post this week gives another alternative for people who want to start the day early.

    I think the word CLUB is the key to people who can’t do the transformation alone. It’s hard to do anything by yourself. So, I think joining a club like the runners club that you mentioned would be a good way to start.

    I found this very interesting though:

    “The article states that knowing there are people waiting for you at 5:30 a.m. helps motivate you to get out of bed.”

    It’s just hard for me to imagine myself going for a run at 5:30 a.m. I can’t even wake up for my morning prayer. I mean, it’s not even people waiting for me, it’s God. This makes me feel really bad. =p

    This is just a link that I found about a woman who practices Islam, and part of it requires her to start the day very early.

    http://www.beliefnet.com/Video/Faiths/Islam/Morning-Practice-Muslim-Prayer.aspx

  2. Link to Comments « Awis Mranani Says:

    […] Research#9 (Michelle) […]

  3. amberowens Says:

    The second article about the creamer lady is interesting yet also weird. She either needs more sleep or maybe she should try a different brand of coffee creamer.

    When I have to get up early the next day, I just think about my favorite cereal waiting for me before I go to bed. (Weird? I know). But, this is what gets me up on time. So I always have to make sure I keep that favorite cereal in the house, or else I might not wake up on time.

    • michelleshry Says:

      I am a huge cereal lover, so I am right there with you. I get up pretty early in the morning and the first thing I do is grab the cereal box and milk. I just opened the Reese’s Peanut Butter Puffs yesterday. That box will be gone tomorrow morning (I average about one box every three days).

Leave a Reply

