Research Post #11

The Google alerts this past week featured more people hating getting up in the morning and not liking morning people than it revealed good things about morning people.  Over the course of the Google alerts, it has been interesting to see more people complain about morning people or not liking getting up before they absolutely have to.  Maybe I should have set Google alerts to see if the early birds are complaining about the night owls keeping them awake.   

Here are a few examples of people not liking morning people.   

Misodorky claims to be a night owl and cannot believe there are people who enjoy getting up at the crack of dawn and are fully functional.  She has a perception that early birds wake up in a cheerful mood and are very productive.  Misodorky posts for morning people to leave her alone and refers to morning people as freaks of nature and that she hates all morning people.     

Well, the early birds I interviewed throughout this semester did not come across as this way.  Yes, they did get up early and got moving, but it wasn’t exactly as cheery as this lady thinks.  They may still be groggy, but know that this is their only opportunity to do their personal goals.   

Duoly Noted starts her blog post off with big, bold, red letters “I Hate Morning People.”  Well, what a shocking way to start off a post.  She does not believe in getting up before 8 a.m. and she is struggling with how in the world she will get up at 6 a.m. when she goes to take the bar exam that begins at 8 a.m.  She has already started trying to get up at 6 a.m., but finds herself hitting the snooze for another 45 minutes.  Not only is she angry about the bar exam starting at 8 a.m., she is also mad at society for starting the work day at 8 a.m.  She feels morning people have a superiority complex and look down on night owls.  Her blog post also ends with a reminder that she hates morning people – well, I guess that’s why her blog is called “duoly noted.”

One Response to “Research Post #11”

  1. Alexander Kidwell Says:

    I wanted to let you know that I have lately been looking back through your blog posts and reading elsewhere for tips on waking up early. Waking up early has always been the biggest struggle for me, as it is for many people, so I’m always up for trying anything I can to make the process easier. While I don’t hate morning people persay, I do envy their ability to adopt a normal routine that is fitting with the rest of society.

    Your topic seemed interesting to me because the hours that the people you talked to were waking up are, to me, pretty ungodly. However, I can’t deny that they’re accomplishing much more than I ever could by getting that kind of jump on things. Personally, I think I’ll probably still sleep in whenever I get the chance.

Leave a Reply

